Our services // Apprenticeships // Become an apprentice

What qualification will I get?

There are four levels of apprenticeships, covering all skill levels. Each will give you a different qualification.

Intermediate Apprenticeships

Intermediate Apprenticeships are the most popular level of apprenticeship and account for about 60% of all apprenticeships. They will give you what’s known as a Level 2 qualification - usually an NVQ level 2 which is the equivalent of five good GCSE passes. You might sometimes also work towards a BTEC, GCSE, or City & Guilds qualification. This level of apprenticeship usually lasts around 12-18 months, although they can be longer or shorter. You can also choose to go on to do an Advanced Apprenticeship afterwards, to get even more qualifications.

Advanced Apprenticeships

Advanced Apprenticeships are the next level up - and will give you a Level 3 qualification, the equivalent of two A-level passes. You’ll also gain relevant technical certificates or qualifications (depending on your type of apprenticeship). Usually Advanced Apprenticeships last around 24 months, although they can sometimes be longer or shorter. 

Higher Apprenticeships

If you are looking to obtain the equivalent of a higher education certificate, higher education diploma or a foundation degree then you should look at Higher Apprenticeships.  Classed as Level 4, 5 and even 6, many of these last from 12 to 24 months, though some can even last as long as five years! 

Degree Apprenticeships

Degree apprenticeships are quite new, they have only been around since 2015. These are classed as Level 6 and 7 and typically last for 4 years, though there is no maximum timeframe. By the end of this apprenticeship you’ll have earned your full Master’s or Bachelor’s degree and, unlike university leavers, you will have been earning the entire time and have no student debts.

Apprenticeship levels explained

Also in this section: